Menu Home

We Are Living Art, Created To Hang On, Stand Up and Encourage Others – Maya Angelou

Welcome,

I have loved animals since I was a small child, got the fever for horses at the tender age of five. I fell deeply in love with donkeys and mules In my late forties. My love for donkeys, and mules forced me to learn as much as possible for them.  Donkeys are not horses with long ears.


RIO9MONTHSOLD

“I quickly found a huge gap in education, health and training for these majestic equine, the under dog of the equine world.”

Why? Donkeys and mules do not bring in large amounts of money like race horses, cutting, dressage.

RIO6SUMMER2012

Donkey Whisperer Farm, LLC opens for business on January, 1st, 2014

Select Virtual Coach, Trainer and Consultant for more details.  Select Donkey Whisperer Farm website  to learn more about my virtual training buisness, I have successfully helped over 55 people for free in the past three years. Select client testimonials to understand how I can help you from your home anywhere in the world without you having to leave the comfort of your home or haul your equine.

Are you ready to work with me?

Send me an e-mail at Melody@Donkeywhisperer.com 

Donkeys are unique they deserve to be treated with dignity, respect and natural training techniques, no bit, no spurs no abuse. 

RocketMan2012age18

Please remember “training a donkey is a challenge to learn and understand how to best communicate and train them as they do not learn like a horse.”   Donkeys are not horses with long ears. Donkeys require us humans to think like a donkey or mule and wait another day for training as donkeys are on donkey time, kinda like being a human in Hawaii everything is slowed way down.  Unlike the horse the donkey or mule can think all the time, Donkeys are always on donkey time. Slow way down when working with a donkey or mule, sit down and wait for them to come to you.

Melody teaching Rio steering using no bit or spurs

melodyridingrio2013june

I have been a student of the Parelli home study program since 2007 right after purchasing my horse (a young filly at twenty months not trained), a nine month old baby mammoth donkey (not trained) and a mini donkey at the age of thirteen. I share honestly why the Parelli home study program works for my horse and donkeys. I am not authorized to teach Parelli as I am not an instructor.

After three short lessons with the Parelli carrot stick Rio now has steering – No bit, no spurs

melodyriostandingage7

melodyrioage7ridingdoinggreat

I am married to my best friend and husband Scott and forever grateful to him for helping me keep my dream of farm living in the midst of trauma.  We share our life with one Mammoth donkey, one mini donkey, one horse, three dogs and two cats.  Our new farm in Sequim, Washington will have twenty acres, two horses, two mini donkeys, two standard donkeys and one Mammoth donkey. I am very grateful for all of the blessings and gifts GOD has provided me and my husband as each day is truly a gift, fragile and precious. 

Jesus Christ is amazing! Most importantly I share why Jesus Christ is our Lord and Savior and how my husband and I trust GOD to hold us tight in the middle of trauma. GOD is amazing.

Donkeys, horses and mules are healing they help us humans step out of our personal journey in life.  To know a donkey will forever change the human who wants to learn and love again.   Take a look at this article explaining the donkey much better than I can from Peaceful Valley Donkey Rescue.

I  am a survivor of a life threatening motor vehicle accident while riding as a passenger when the driver of the vehicle I was in ran a stop sign, a semi truck fully loaded with cow manure smashed into the passenger door where I was sitting leaving me permanently disabled.  Select GOD created a miracle for me to read about the trauma and blessings.  After surviving a life threatening car accident so many things change, we continue to thank GOD that our relationship with Jesus Christ is strengthened and reinforced.  

We continue to thank GOD for his Miracle of life and healing one day at a time.  When I am pressed on every side by troubles, I am not crushed and broken.  When I am perplexed because I don’t know why things happen as they do, I don’t give up and quit. 2nd Corinthians 4:8 I pray my transparency gives you hope and the ability to never give up most importantly make Jesus Christ you Lord and Savior.  The bible is still my favorite book. 

Animals are very healing, they help us humans be grateful for everything in our life and live in the moment. LILRUNNING2012AGE7

melodlilysept2013 riorocketman2012july

“If you have something you want to do with your life get going to move towards your dreams and goals as life is fragile and precious.”

God bless you and your family two and four-legged!

 Melody

http://www.youversion.com/mobile

https://www.facebook.com/Donkeywhisperer

http://www.donkeywhisperer.com

Categories: Faith fragile GOD Got Donkeys healing Jesus Life LIFE ON FARM Mammoth donkey marriage Parelli precious Trailer loading

Tagged as:

Donkey Whisperer Farm, LLC

Melody & Scott Johnson are the owners of the Donkey Whisperer Farm, LLC a Christian business. Melody is a world-wide virtual coach, consultant and trainer of humans to learn how to train their equine.

Need help with your donkey, mule or horse?
I provide a custom coaching plan specific to your needs via Skype, videos, and the phone. No need to travel for training or send your equine off to an expensive trainer. I work around your schedule as I am here to serve you.

Ready to work with me? The first half hour is free!

GOD bless you and your family two and four-legged!
E-mail Melody@DonkeyWhisperer.com
Website http://www.donkeywhisperer.com

161 replies

  1. Dear Melody, you are an inspiration for us all! As a donkey lover, I have found your training to be truly effective and inspiring. Donkey Obo (See Success Stories) has become a total people lover and there is almost nothing he will not do for us……..thanks to you and your Parelli training. I pray that you can attend the Parelli school and share your amazing stories of God’s Grace and the role equines have played in healing your life.

    We are praying that others find their way to your gentle heart and beautiful soul.

    Kelly and Richard

    1. Dear Kelly & Richard,

      Yes, we are praying my body will heal and I will be able to physically attend Parelli University in Colorado. My dream is to become a Parelli certified instructor when I heal from this car accident as I want to help all the equine horses, donkeys and mules. I love them all!

      Thank you for praying for me & the update on Mr. Obo!

      Melody

  2. YES! Always, always thank God for his healing, he’s behind it all! We are so blessed to have a shepherd watching over us. I’m so happy that you were blessed with healing! you’re in my prayers.

    -alexandra

    1. Thank you for praying for me for a complete healing each day is a new day, one step forward two steps back but I am moving forward. Long journey ahead for me with the trauma in my spinal cord, shattered pelvis but I have faith and never give up.

  3. Prayers go out for your quick recovery, Melody.

    My family was just offered a male, ungelded miniature donkey. The owners want to give him away to a good home and we just got six alpacas, so decided we don’t need another mouth to feed! The mini donk is in Jefferson, Oregon, if you know of anyone who might want to give him a forever home.

    1. Thank you so very much for your prayers GOD is amazing I am healing, one day at a time.

      I don’t know anyone in Oregon, try googling shelters in Oregon. Such hard times for people and animals these days I beleive you will find an outstanding home for this little guy. Perhaps you will be the home for him? Donkeys are easy keepers they need another donkey for a companion to be the most fullfilled. Donkeys will forever change your heart they are that special.

      I will keep looking and advertise on the Donkey Whisperer Blog. I suggest you advertise on your blog too, social media spreads so fast these days much faster than the phone. Smile…

  4. Hi Melody, what a beautiful name. Love your page and look forward to reading more of it. Thank you so much for visiting Walking With Yahshua and giving me a like. Appreciate that.

    We have all kinds of animals on our farm. They sure are wonderful, kind, and good. God is so good to us too. Hope your healing is coming along really well.

    Blessings to you, hubby, and all animal-people at your place. Teresa

  5. Thank you for blessing me twice–once for visiting my blog and again for introducing me to yours. I really needed your words. I lost both of my parents in the past year. It’s been a rough go for me. I’m an only child. Your words encouraged me. (I’ve been crazy about horses since I was a child. I live in a subdivision just outside of the city limits. But a little ways down the road there is a cow pasture with donkeys among the cattle. The first time I heard them bray at midnight I almost jumped out of my skin. They make me smile now every time I hear them.

    1. I am deeply sorry for your loss of parents. God uses each of us to help the other it appears my tears and transparency helps others understand to understand they are not alone and to never give up no matter what, trust God.

      Your life is in the palm of Gods hand he knows the begining and the end, he has counted every hair on your head. God places each person in our life at exactly the right moment sometimes it feels he is not early but I promise God is never late.

      Donkeys are healers of the human soul they are teachers for us humans, truly gifts from God in Jesus Christ precious name.

      GOD bless you and your family two and four-legged!
      Melody

  6. Hi, so nice to find you after you visited me. I am recently retired from working with children with handicaps and those with severe emotional problems, often due to living in homes of great Darkness. I had an equine therapy aspect to the work I did and I learned so much from my horses who really taught me what equine therapy was all about. These horses were farm work horses who had never been around kids and were now too old for the cowboys to use. Each of the 10 that I had were gentle and loving to the children, even when they weren’t to adults! They knew these kids were needing special love and they gave it to them generously…and to me. I rode a donkey once, and when I was safely back on the ground, thanked him for an exciting experience which I never wanted to repeat. I take my hat off to you! Hugs, pat Source of Inspiration

      1. I never heard the term “mammoth donkey,” but the one I rode was huge and got bigger the longer I stayed on him. lol He was beautiful, though. Here in Brazil, the people who have money love donkeys and buy beautiful and intricate gear for them. It is quite a sight to see a calvagada of them.

      2. Hi Pat,
        The Mammoth donkey has a great history in the United States of America as they were gifts to President George Washington from the President of Spain. President George Washington bred them to the biggest horse mare he could and produced gigantic mules thus creating the roads of america before the car was invented. I have lots of interesting facts on my website, blog and facebook page if your interested. Nice to meet you.

  7. morning Melody, what a wonderful bog you have hear. looking forward to following and learning more about you guys and your beautiful animals. i agree, life sure is fragile and precious, and it sure can change in a heartbeat. take care and God bless you and your family two and four-leggeds also! thank you kindly for comming to my blogs. i’lll be back.. ; )

      1. LOL.. You accept!

        Just kidding…check out my latest post and do what I did. If you have any questions…write me. Blessings.

    1. Oh thank you so much, I have lot’s of time on my hands these days in between pain I like to blog, share and read. T.V. is not for me I love the blogging atmosphere meeting real people navigating the world is realing healing for me and hopefully those who read my blog.
      GOD bless you and your family two and four-legged!
      Melody

      1. I can relate. I was in a motorcycle accident that has left me in chronic pain, too. While I do actually love to watch tv, I prefer writing and reading in Blogosphere myself. Keep up the good work!

  8. Hi, Melody,
    I’m so glad you came by my blog and introduced yourself so now I can visit here and learn more about your journey and the joys of your four-legged friends! I wish you many, many blessings and deep healing.
    Kathryn

  9. Thanks for visitng my blog and liking my post about the Kathiawari horse. I’ve always loved horses but only learned to ride about 4 years ago just before I moved to India and Raja is my first horse so it is a big learning curve for both of us!

  10. Sorry, Here is the story in English:THE WOLF AND THE DONKEY

    On May 9, 2007 in the mountains of northern Albania in the northwestern city of Patok, a wolf was captured and put in a pen. To feed him, his captors decided to give him “live food,” ie an old donkey who, having been exploited for many years by its owners, had become worthless to them. Nobody expected to see what happened next.

    Both animals, prisoners of an evil with a desire for possession and selfishness, did something unexpected … The wolf looked into the donkey’s eyes and the poor old donkey did the same, and the two became friends. Because in a world dominated by the greed and apathy of men, the titles of prey and predator become meaningless, and a wonderful friendship can develop between two souls, victims of the same evil, only made possible by emotions that we struggle to understand.

    UPDATE:

    12.000 people had written to the government of Albania asking that the life of donkey be spared and the wolf released to the wild. The story got coverage from the Albanian television and under the huge pressure of the public, they finally let both of them free.

    The original article mentions that the donkey lives now happily on a green pasture and that the wolf would even pass by sometimes to visit him.

    Original source: http://www.gut-aiderbichl.at/aktetier/aktetier_1038.pdf

    Thanks to Occupy for Animals. Please visit their page here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Occupy-for-Animals/152547194813334
    By: Andres Grijalva

  11. Love your Maya Angelou quote–unique thought and very inspiring. Things like that give us a needed reminder of our obligations to make ourselves the best we can. Also loved your description of the donkey’s independent spirit and how we must learn to communicate with them, etc.–reminded me of my relationship with my beloved kitties. I think cats are so much the same that way. This type of animal also brings out our best spirit.

    Best wishes with your ongoing recovery.

    1. Hi in my opinion Donkeys are not subborn they are usually introverted and need a great human partner or the human needs to become more of a partner with donkey to build a relationship. Donkeys are really smart :)
      Thank you for your sweet comment and taking the time to commment and read my blog.

      1. Hi Melody! You’re welcome! By the way, I see the petition has gotten about 4,000 more signatures… 8,091 out of 100,000. I will be sending emails out tonight and placing it on my Facebook acct. Take care!

  12. I found this in a roundabout way, through another blog I found in a roundabout way. But then, the LORD uses both direct paths and roundabout ones, so I don’t think it was ‘coincidence’ that I ended up here. I will be checking back to read up more in the future. I lost my first husband in an auto accident, so I know the effect that has on those left behind. He was the passenger, the driver fell asleep and hit a tree. He is not a believer, and I believe he has suffered greatly over the last 12 years. As I do not know where he is, the only thing I can do is pray for his healing and for him to come to the LORD as the only true source of healing. Thanks so much for your ministry, and may the LORD continue to heal you!!

  13. Thanks for visiting our blog. Your site is wonderful and you’re so inspirational! Thank you for all you’re doing for donkeys with the information you provide on your site. They deserve to be treated with respect and dignity like all of God’s creations. <3

    If you're ever in California, we invite you to visit our restaurant! :)

  14. Thank you for visiting Garden Walk Garden Talk. I too am an animal lover, but never had a donkey or mule on the horse farm. I can imagine they would be quite challenging, but they are awfully cute. I am sorry to hear of you accident and wish you all the best on your recovery. You really did have God in your corner that day.

  15. It’s gratifying to see someone who knows their source of strength, inspiration and destiny. You are surrounded by the beauty of God’s creatures and creation, and your gratitude to God is inspirational.
    Blessings,
    Andy

    1. Hi Andy,

      Thank you for reading my blog and taking a moment to comment. GOD in Jesus Christ precious name is Amazing! Thank you again as I am double blessed to be able to walk into your blog.
      GOD bless you!

  16. AMEN! No matter what life throws at us, each moment is an opportunity to glorify God and enjoy Him. Pain, I am convinced, after having had a host of trials myself, is meant for the glory of God. Everything is meant for His glory; and so is pain. You no doubt know this. Thank you for this post; thank you that you are responding to God’s faithfulness by speaking about Him and His glory. I am proud to be your brother in the Lord.

    1. Hello
      I will go read your posts in more detail next. I am indeed overwhelmed for your loss I pray GOD helps you move into his love and peace as only GOD can heal what satin has stolen from his children. I was listening to Joyce Meyer last night and she said something powerful. She said “Just think how we feel when someone or thing hurts our children” Well GOD feels the same way about his children – Children of Jesus Christ we are to let GOD fight our battles, never judge, forgive and trust GOD to restore everything. I hope this helped you. GOD bless you!

  17. I am in awe of your posts and they warm my heart. I nominated you for the versatile blogger award! The logo is on my most recent post for you. Thank you for making me smile!

  18. Wgat a beautiful blog! I found you by a link from Gina Professions of Peace. My sister’s godmother used to run a donkey sanctuary in Norfolk, UK. I adore donkeys and am pleased to follow your versatile blog. Lots of good resding here, which I shall enjoy catching up with. Blessings. x

  19. Just today, I was listening in Church as the priest said, when we see something is not right if God is in us, we must do something. Obviously, God is in you. We ask for his continued blessings on all that you do. Thank you, for visiting my site and ‘liking’ Changing Colors.

  20. I have never been a farm person, but somehow I have developed a love for donkeys and goats. I had never heard of a mammoth donkey before. I enjoyed your photos as well as your post. I don’t have time tonight to read any of your other posts, but will probably come back another time. God bless.

    1. Thank you for praying for a complete healing and no more pain and suffering for me and my family. This has been a catastrophic and traumatic event we beleive in the power of prayer. GOD bless you and your family.
      Melody

      1. Melody, I added you to my nightly prayers that our Lord continue to heal you and give you full range of motion without all the pain. It’s funny, Most folks wouldn’t suspect me of being the praying type. Oh but I do! I’ve held the power of prayer in my hand and have seen it move mountains. “Only a fool in his own heart would say there is no God”.

  21. Hi Melody, I’m happy to have found your site via Carolyn! Ironically, my husband and I have just rescued two donkeys–a mom and her baby. So I’m sure I will benefit greatly from your blog. :)
    Very nice to meet you!
    Christy

      1. I sure will! We just got them this week, and I’ll be posting a blog entry with pictures introducing them next week. I’ll be sure to share it with you!

    1. Hi Jennifer,

      Enjoyed your blog today.

      I am still working very hard in physical therapy now a gait specialist and praying to GOD one day I will ride again and at the least be able to drive our Mammoth donkey and mini donkey. The injuries I sustained are very complicated to explain in this little time space. This I can say GOD is amazing and he is doing miracles every day in my life to help me. GOD bless you and your family two and four-legged! Melody

    1. GOD has given me the gift of communication and I am sharing his word via my life story. I pray that I can inspire and help others who think they have no help in this world we live in as GOD is the only way in Jesus Christ name amen. I am grateful to have the relationship I have with Jesus and I am grateful that my husband is a christian now to. Sometimes Trauma is what brings us to our knees for Jesus I pray others do not wait for trauma to find Jesus. Nice to meet you! Thank you for reading my blog, thank you for taking a moment to connect with me.

    1. Thank you for reading my blog and taking a moment to connect with me and comment. GOD is amazing and I am grateful to still be here and share his miracle of life and healing (I have good days and bad days) but still I do my best to have a purpose in this fragile world we all share.

      Melody

    1. Hi Katie,

      Thank you so very much for this award and congratulations on your award. You are an inspiration for so many people keep up the great work, trust GOD in Jesus Christ name for all things. Melody

  22. Melody – I’m sending you snout kisses my friend. Never give up. God is good.
    Check out my blog in a few when you get a chance. I am so leaving you something there :)
    XOXO – Bacon

  23. Thank you for following my blog “Encouragement for Every Day” I pray it will be a blessing to your heart! God bless your ministry here!

  24. I found your blog by seeing Rio’s face on your thumbnail. So glad I found you. I need more resources for burro knowledge and fun. My sister and I each adopted a female “Jenny” wild burro last October for guard donkeys. Mine is Rosie and Susie’s is Francis. I gentled and trained them both. Francis now lives on 100 acres with a flock of 15 sheep in the rolling hills of Northern California. My Rosie resides with at Sundog Ranch guarding my flock of 7 goats. She is the most precious girl we could imaging. Gentling and training the burro’s was a challenge but well worth the time and effort. Still got to work in trailering.

    1. Hi Sundog Drift,

      Send me an e-mail at Melody@donkeywhisperer.com and I can help you for free with some tips and ideas how to help you the best for free. Can you skype? This is the best way to talk about your donkeys and help coach you to be the best human you can be for your sweet donkeys. Good for you for adopting them no doubt you saved them from the slaughter house or worse being abused. :) Talk to you soon, Melody

  25. Hey there! You started following my blog, so I wanted to check out your blog and say, “Hi!” Your blog is a delight! I love what you’re doing for donkeys (and what they’re doing for you!). I also find your strong faith inspiring. I read the story of your accident, which I found very inspirational. It’s a pleasure to e-meet you! Celeste :)

  26. Hi, thanks for the follow. You’ve got a great blog here – I’m in awe of your energy and dedication!
    Goodness me, your Rio is certainly a mammoth donkey, I don’t think I have ever seen one so big! And our “striped” donkey has ears just like your Rocket Man – I will try to get better photos of him on a day when the shadows are not so strong.

  27. What a blog! I wish I could comment from my other blog, but it is in Afrikaans- bileamsedonkie.wordpress.com I love donkeys too! Thanks for the amazing work you do!

    1. Most horses are afraid of donkeys at first as donkeys do not smell and they sound different along with long ears. My horse Miss Lily was never afraid of the donkeys but she is an extrovert. Nice to meet you thank you for reading my blog and taking a moment to leave a comment.

  28. i enjoyed reading about your adventures with donkeys and horses. you certainly are blessed – thank you for sharing what God is doing with you and sharing your passion for his magnificent animals, the horse and donkey. Thank You. ☼HUGS!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,630 other followers

