RSS

Donkeys, Horses and Mules Have Personalities

04 Jun

Howdy,

I have been a home study student of Parelli for five years now, my husband and I own the Donkey Whisperer Farm, a hobby farm.   I share information for free to help the owner and their equine have a better life.  I believe all humans and animals deserve to be treated with respect and with no violence.  Training horses, donkeys and mules is dangerous I highly suggest learning from Parelli before attempting to train the equine for your safety and your equine. 

I believe the owner who has emotional intelligence should learn what is needed to train the equine as the equine works best with the person they have trust in and a relationship with.  Parelli has been a huge part of the success I have had in training my donkeys and horse.  Parelli has a huge on-line training program with professional instructors all over the world. 

Just like people have personalities donkeys, horses and mules have I call “equine personalities”, Parelli teaches horse training and calls this horseanalities.  The donkey can be all over the Parelli horsenalities chart, donkeys can be challenging to work with for the human who will not take the time to partner up. Do you know what the Left  brain introvert means?  This link is directly copied from Parelli to learn more join Parelli for thirty days free.

Select Donkey, horse and mule personality to read more.

Parelli article explaining the left brain introvert Enjoy!

Getting the left brain introvert to do something can be a challenge for sure.  Just like some ponies, a donkey who is a left brain introvert needs some motivation to do boring tasks such as circling they need a human who will mix things up and do some things they like to do. 

Drilling a donkey will never ever work, donkeys will simply shut down by not moving their feet or laying down thus frustrating their human owner.  I do my best when working with my donkeys and horse to mix things up and blow their minds.  Keep them wondering what I will be asking them to do and always ending each training session with some play and something they have mastered, next we are on to eating green grass on the other side of their paddock. Why?  I try to treat them they way I would want to be treated if I was a donkey, horse a mule with dignity, respect, leadership and love.  Not necessarily in that order each time I play with them.

Melody

http://www.donkeywhisperer.com

https://www.facebook.com/Donkeywhisperer

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Donkeys, Horses and Mules Have Personalities

  1. newsferret

    June 4, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    All animals have as you pointed out personalities and domesticated animals are true personalities. I always measure our animals on the scale of our dogs and cats. Do not ask me whether dogs or or cats are the barometer, not looking for a fight. And by the same token I group, donkeys (I love them), mules or horses, to each the own in personality.

     
    • Donkey Whisperer Farm

      June 4, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      Hi Newsferret,
      Thank you for reading my blog and taking the time to comment :) I think my dogs have personalities for sure too and of course us humans have personalities so when working with the equine we need to try and match their energy not ours. Have a wonderful and blessed day!
      Melody

       
  2. granbee

    June 6, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    I really think you captured much of what you do with donkeys when you said you “play” with them. Loving, tender and happy play go a long way to win trust.

     
  3. cindy knoke

    February 20, 2014 at 6:15 am

    so cool~

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,008 other followers

