Menu Home

A Jack (intact male Donkey) Kills A Man

Howdy,

An aggressive donkey is being blamed for the death of Hollywood Park Mayor William “Bill” Bohlke.  Select News Sanantonio News to read the story.  It is with great sadness I am writing this blog today I really have never ever read anything like this before. 

A Jack (stallion not gelded) standard donkey weighing no more than 500 1bs the size of a deer has killed a Mayor in Texas per the newspaper article written above.  The Mayor did not geld his donkey and used him as a guard animal for his farm.  The donkey’s life is in the hands of the man’s family now, I am sending my prayers and tears for the family and the donkey.

UPDATE Feb 2, 2014

The donkey did not kill the man, this was a homicide. Select Donkey did not kill the man (mayor) to read the entire news article.

Wild Standard Donkeys

Why Do Jacks (Donkeys Not gelded) get so violent and aggressive?

They are territorial and they are doing what is natural to them is all I can understand.  I have never owned a Jack and I will never own a Jack both of my donkeys are Johns (gelding in the horse world) and they are wonderful, sweet donkey boys.

Why Should I Turn My Jack Into A John? Select News letter to read a bit more.

A Jack can become angry, aggressive and violent in a matter of seconds over what appears to us humans as nothing.  Jacks are territorial, they get frustrated easy and it is not about trying to have sex or being gay when trying to ride another male donkey or abuse a Jenny to her death.  Never ever put a Jack in a pasture with a Jenny or another Jack or John (gelding) they must live in isolation better safe than sorry.  The Jack can become violent and abuse and kill the weaker and younger ones, baby cows, baby goats anything weaker than the Jack must be dominated by the Jack.

All donkeys play ruff they grab the neck of the other donkey and play, rear up, play tug it’s all normal but Jacks should be gelded and given the opportunity to have a great life.

It is not fair to leave a Jack intact in our human world as very few donkeys are needed for breeding today our world is over populated with horses, donkeys and mules that can not find a good home.

A Jack must live in isolation day after day, year after year it is a lonely life for a Jack.  The human must always be on guard when working with a Jack, never knowing what will set them off or make them aggressive they are dangerous and need to be treated with the greatest respect and understanding.

Leaving a male Jack intact is Dangerous and can be life threatening to other animals including donkeys and people, please learn from this and always geld the Jack so he has a chance at a great life.  Please educate yourself and your family via social networks on the importance of gelding your male horses and Donkeys.

GOD bless you and your family two and four-legged!

Melody

http://wwwyouversion.com/mobile

http://www.donkeywhisperer.com

https://www.facebook.com/Donkeywhisperer

Categories: 2012 donkey news

Tagged as:

Donkey Whisperer Farm, LLC

Melody & Scott Johnson are the owners of the Donkey Whisperer Farm, LLC a Christian business. Melody is a world-wide virtual coach, consultant and trainer of humans to learn how to train their equine.

Need help with your donkey, mule or horse?
I provide a custom coaching plan specific to your needs via Skype, videos, and the phone. No need to travel for training or send your equine off to an expensive trainer. I work around your schedule as I am here to serve you.

Ready to work with me? The first half hour is free!

GOD bless you and your family two and four-legged!
E-mail Melody@DonkeyWhisperer.com
Website http://www.donkeywhisperer.com

25 replies

    1. Thank you this is so sad…. I am praying for the family as most people just do not understand how dangerous a Jack can be. Please share awareness of gelding a Jack so he can have a wonderful life in our world. :)

  1. This is so sad. I feel for the poor Donkey and wish they had known about the dangers of keeping a Jack. And who ever thought of keeping a Donkey to guard? My prayers go out for the life of the poor Donkey and for the family that have now suffered such a terrible loss.

    1. Sadly people just do not understand how dangerous it is to keep a Jack. They get a young male donkey and think no more about it, education and awareness creates change perhaps you can share this news to help a family living in your part of the world. Thank you for reading my blog, thank you for commenting. My heart is full of pain and aching for the family who lost their father, husband this is so sad.

      1. Will try to remember to do a re-blog of this. If I haven’t done so during the week – send me a reminder. Between work and getting caught up in some insane blogging competition (for reasons I have yet to figure out), there’s a good chance I’ll lose my mind and need a gentle push from you and your donkeys.

  2. I”m surprised to learn that they are so aggressive. I knew they made excellent guards in pastures against coyotes etc., but didn’t know they would so frequently attack people with deadly force and without provocation.

    1. Dear Heather,

      I only have the newspaper facts nothing more, I really do not know what happened, I wrote the article to make people aware to geld the Jack make them into a John. A Jack is just like a Stallion they are to be respected and all should be gelded as they must live in isolation if not gelded a sad life for sure and not necessary. Thank you for reading my blog and thank you for commenting hopefully you will be able to help a donkey one day from all you have learned on my blog and become a human angel. Thank you again for reading and taking a moment to comment on my blog.

  3. Very, very sad. I didn’t know…
    If we, as humans, behave in the short sighted way we often do, the Jack will cease to exist. I hope that the family steps back. I’m not saying that the life of the Jack is worth more than the beloved family man, only that it would serve no purpose to kill the animal. We are so quick to react without thinking things through.
    I’m not trying to be funny here, but he should have considered peacocks (pea fowl) or alpaca… Or even a dog.

  4. Such a sad, avoidable tragedy. I am reminded of the sad scene of the “as close to a predator (ungelded) horse as you’re gonna get” in the amazing film, BUCK. I am so grateful that donkeys have such a wonderful embassador in you. Thanks for your blog and for getting the word out to the world.

    1. Hi yes, knowledge helps create awareness and hopefully a change for the better of people and the animals. Yes I saw the movie Buck so sad to see how people messed up the horses. Blogging helps me pass the time as I have much time these days. Thank you for reading my blog and sharing information.

  5. Melody, thank you for posting this. I’m praying it will help us all to see that we must be responsible in the choices we make with any animal in our care. This man’s death is so sad, and it is sad that he was so misguided!
    Sounds like you have some down-time right now and can be on-line more. Best wishes with your blog and all you do! I love your blog because it brings me to a world where I can’t go, things I don’t know. Thank you for visiting mine, and God bless you!
    Maria

    1. Hi Maria,

      Yes I seem to have lot’s of time on my hands it is the season of life I am in still trying to recover from the semi truck accident. I enjoy you blog too! Thank you for taking a moment to comment on my blog.
      Melody

  6. I had a jack donkey who was the sweetest gentleman I have ever owned. I bred him to my jenny and they lived together with our horses and a Shetland mule. I would walk outside and they would both come running to me to be petted and have their ears scratched. Both were broke to ride. Had so much fun with him and sadly he passed away from old age. I miss him with all my heart. I do have a beautiful little john from him and he looks just like his daddy. Jack donkeys have huge stud buttons compared to a stud (horse) and have a strong sex drive and protectiveness. But I believe it has a lot to do with how they are raised and they need daily attention. When turned out to guard sheep or other livestock they resort back to their wild state and instinctively try to herd. I am very sorry that this happened to the Mayor and pray for his family. Also the jack should be casterated….not killed as he was acting naturally in his wild state.

  7. Hi Jo

    Thank you for sharing your story. Most people should not be around a stallion or Jack (donkey) as they have no idea what they are doing to stay safe. I agree with you that all animals can be taught social skills at a young age, sadly the donkey is not given this opportunity very often.

    So many equine in the United States of America need homes and are being sent off to slaughter due to over breeding.

    I shared this story for two reasons
    1. To create awareness as to how dangerous any stallion or Jack is
    2. To hopefully make a change in how people think about being a responsible owner.

    A stallion or Jack usually lives a life of isolation as they only have one purpose in life to create sperm as the humans sell the sperm. A gelded male equine is the best companion as they do not have to think about sex all the time. They are very calm and if trained at a young age the perfect partner for a beginner.

    I have no way of knowing what happened to this poor donkey no doubt he never had a good life at all as no one helped him. After any human is killed the animal is put down that’s just how it goes. Tears for the family who lost their dad, brother, husband and son. Tears for the donkey all of this could have been avoided with proper education. I have never ever heard of anything like this before so I shared on my blog to help people understand the importance of being safe around all equine not just Jacks.

    The human must tame first and then teach the equine how to follow the human in a leadership role of no pain and suffering. I train using resistance free techniques and I am always the leader and always staying safe with my equine as accidents happen and people die. Equine are dangerous and we humans need to learn how to stay safe and most importantly learn how to teach them how to get their hooves trimmed, vet checks, load in the trailer, go for walks, accept medicine when needed on-and-on. :)

    Thank you for sharing your success story and for reading my blog and taking the time to read.
    Melody

    1. Thank you for reading my comment. I agree with you on several notes as to not all people should have jack donkeys as they need to educate themselves BEFORE owning one ; yes equine can be dangerous ; a gelding is a perfect partner for a beginner ; and they should be taught to have their hooves trimmed, vet checks, etc. Once you have gained their trust in you it is a very enjoyable friendship.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,903 other followers

