"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

Spring Lice, Ticks and Flys

Howdy,

Washington State finally made it to 60 degrees on May 1st, 2011! 

Spring is officially here next comes the flys, bees, masquitoes, ticks and lice we practice preventative medicine in all areas of our life including our equine. Please remember to check your equine every day for ouchies, hoof picking, wipe the gunk out of their eyes as needed, no see-ums (lice, ticks, fly’s) and be proactive for your equines health.  Domesticated equine depend on their human partner to keep them healthy just like an infant depends on their mother for everything.

My horse is almost completely shed out and my donkeys look like they are ready for snow really thick hair helps the donkeys combat cold, insects and eating brush as donkeys love wood.  We use fly predators to dramatically decrease the barn fly population as it works and saves my horse, donkeys and family from these annoying insects.  I use marigold spray for combating mosquitos as it works the best and is non-toxic.  The label  for the marigold spray does not say insect repellant so it is a little secret, pass it on to your equine buddy, beleive me I know what works as my horse is allergic to mosquitos.  What I love about this stuff is it works, grandma always said “marigolds make the bugs stay away” and she was right with the bonus of my horse and donkeys smelling good and looking shiny with no toxins.  Removal of lice try Buzz-off.

Do you have any tips to share?  Please leave a comment to help others as sharing, awareness and reaching forward helps make a positive change for our beloved equine.

GOD bless you and your family two and four legs!

Melody

http://www.donkeywhisperer.com

4 Responses to “Spring Lice, Ticks and Flys”

  1. haley14

    I love your blog!! We just got a donkey (didn’t know what I was getting into) we love her to death but the flies and gnats are horrible! What works the best for me is Cashel fly mask….they are a little expensive but they keep their ears protected also generic fly spray is great

    Like

    Reply
    • Donkey Whisperer Farm

      Hi Haley,

      Thank you for reading my blog and thank you for taking the time to commment. Fly predators work along with picking up the poop each day and composting. Send me a photo of your donkey when you get a chance with his age and bio. Love to see the donkeys.

      Like

      Reply
      • haley14

        Thank you I will try that. About my donkey she is a rescue and her name is Tilly, she’s about 7 yrs old. I also have 4 goats that she loves to play with! She’s not a large donkey but quite a bit larger than a mini. I’m logged in on my phone so I can’t upload photos of her but if you have an email I can email photos of her to you. We live in western North Carolina and sort of new on the “farming thing” haha but your donkeys are beautiful!

        Like

      • Donkey Whisperer Farm

        When you get a chance send me some photos love to see the donkeys all over the world. Great job giving your donkey Tilly a good home, sounds like she is a standard donkey.

        Like

Leave a Reply

