"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

Do You Have A Fly Problem On Your Farm?

 

I have been receiving too many e-mails asking me what to do when flys are eating donkeys, face, legs.  I really have had a difficult time understanding why this is happening until I saw the photo below from Peaceful Valley Donkey Rescue showing a donkey they just rescued needing immediate medical attention.  People who send me e-mails talk about sores on the donkey something I have never seen before until I saw this poor donkey.  The equine hat has open sores like the donkey below need immediate medical care most likely antibiotics and it will take a while for him/her to recover. I am not a vet but I am an advocate for the equine (donkeys, mules and horses) this is abuse in my eyes.

 

Remember you chose the equine they did not choose you.

 “You are the smart human who took the equine in it is your job to take care of the animal and give him/her a great life.”  Shame on people who throw any animal out in a pasture and never ever check on them to make sure they are healthy. This makes me very angry and I have tears for this donkey and all the other animals suffering when this is preventable.” Melody Johnson, Donkey Whisperer Farm.

Allergies

Did you know animals get allergies? YES!

If your equine is not getting well you must seek medical attention.

donkeyflysabuse

How do I stop Flys on the Donkey Whisperer Farm?  

1.  We pick up the poop out of the paddock twice a day and compost it.  My husband takes his tractor and moves it away from the paddock to turn into black gold compost takes about a year in the Pacific Northwest.

2.  We use Fly Predators as they work

3.  Each and every day – twice a day I check my equine over for any outchies and medicate right away and as I have stated over and over again I pick their feet out each day. Training and health are done all in the same step along with lot’s of loving, scratching and telling about my day.

I get e-mails of people putting pants on donkeys, turpentine (never use) and worse – please use common sense.  Pick up the poop each and every day, use a fly mask if needed and medicate when they have sores immediately.  Try my simple two steps above as they work we have no fly problem on the Donkey Whisperer Farm.  Please have empathy; think how you would like to be stuck in a place, hot with flys and poop every where it is horrible.

Picking up the poop and composting stops worms dead in their tracks too 🙂  We take fecal samples to the vet and do not worm unless they need it over worming can cause more problems as the worms become drug resistant and it destroys the immune system.  That’s it, no big deal no more fly problem 🙂

Select What diseases do flys carry?

Fly

 

GOD bless you and your family two and four-legged!

Melody

http://wwwyouversion.com/mobile

http://www.donkeywhisperer.com

https://www.facebook.com/Donkeywhisperer

4 Responses to “Do You Have A Fly Problem On Your Farm?”

  1. crybennett

    I’ve only had my donkey & mini-mule for 3 months but here in NC it has been so humid that the flies are plentiful. The donkey has more flies than the mini-mule but I’ve had GREAT success using: 1 part Avon skin so soft, 1 part white vinegar, & 1 part water. I put it in a spray bottle and use mainly on the donk’s ankles. Hope this helps.

    Like

    Reply
    • Donkey Whisperer Farm

      In my most humble opinion most important part is to remove the poop, compost away from the equine. Use fly predators as they work 🙂 No flys, no problems. I use marigold spray for mosquitos on my horse and donkeys as it is non-toxic and works great. Thank you for reading my blog and thank you for taking a moment to make a comment I really appreciate all of our readers. Would love to see your donkeys if you would like to share a photo it is fun to share. Melody

      Like

      Reply
  2. Serenity

    We have terrible biting flies, huge horseflies, flies, mosquitoes, etc and my Dad swears by diesel, which we have used for years on our horses without any ill effects. We have found that all other commerical fly sprays have bothered our horse’s skin and aren’t as effective. They are kept out to pasture with the cows all summer and usually only need one application every three or four days.

    Like

    Reply
    • Donkey Whisperer Farm

      I’m sorry I would never put anything toxic on my equine. 😦 The first defense is removing the flys food poop being pro-active is number one. Thank you for your comment.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

