"Horses Dream Of Being Trained The Way A Donkey Demands To Be Trained" Melody Johnson

Helping A Couple Of Scared Donkeys Living In Montana

These two lovely girls are a mom and daughter around eight and ten years old, standard size donkeys.  Remember donkeys come in three sizes, mini, standard and Mammoth.

From left to right is mom Maddie with her daughter Trixi, these lucky girls were recently rescued by my first paying customer.  Select Donkey Whisperer Farm, LLC  to read more about what I do for a living with a life long disability after surviving the semi-truck accident in 2010. It is important for me to share that I have helped fifty-six people world-wide for free before starting my new business on Jan 1st, 2014.

MADDIETRIXISTANDARDDONKEYSMT

I provide custom coaching, consulting and training to the human (owner) to teach the donkey, mule or horse for social skills needed to live in our human world.

These two beautiful girls have to be sedated to get their hooves trimmed a very expensive way to go and can be dangerous for donkeys. I have personally heard of one donkey that was over medicated or given the wrong medication and died after sedation. Rio our mammoth donkey sneezes when sedated and sweats so our vet has worked to find the right medication to help him.  “Sedation in donkeys is tricky, please make sure you have an experienced vet who understands Donkeys are not horses with long ears.”

I am pleased to share that the owner I am coaching has taught her donkeys how to catch her. Before we started working together she could not catch her donkeys. Additionally she can now halter the mom and take the halter off.  Baby steps for the donkeys is imperative for these donkeys, slow everything way down.  Remember the memory these two donkeys have of haltering is bad.  Getting sedation to have their hooves trimmed, shots, wormer, if lucky teeth and the worst of all put in a trailer and sent to a new home. We must never forget that animals need us humans to have empathy and slow things way down for them especially the introverted equine.  Most Donkeys not all but most are introverted. A Jack (stallion in the horse world) is an extrovert and a lead Jenny can be extroverted. Each animal has unique personalities just like us humans.

Owners should be picking out the hooves each and every day as it is like brushing our teeth a very important role in equine ownership.  Additionally picking out the hooves will save you the owner tears and dollars down the road.

Here is a video of me picking the hooves of our two donkeys boys (Rio and Rocket Man) and my horse Miss Lily with no halter on, notice how long it takes me. All of my equine have been trained by me and have outstanding social skills.

Select Hooves picked out to see how fast and easy it is to pick out the hooves with a trained donkey, horse or mule each and every day.

If you would like to schedule a free half hour appointment send me an e-mail at Melody@Donkeywhisperer.com

GOD bless you and your family two and four-legged!

Melody

http://www.donkeywhisperer.com

http://www.youversion.com/mobile

https://www.facebook.com/Donkeywhisperer

5 Responses to “Helping A Couple Of Scared Donkeys Living In Montana”

  1. Heather-Joan Carls

    If there is anyone more than qualified to qualm the fear of those who are afraid of donkeys, it is you, Melanie. I am so glad you are able to help these ladies out. A fantastic start to the new year and an even greater start to your business and another case to put in your business portfolio. 🙂
    Y’all have a great weekend. Hopefully y’all aren’t snowed in like we are here in western NY 😦 lol

    Like

    Reply
    • Donkey Whisperer Farm

      Hi Heather,
      I am very excited to see what GOD does with this business as I give all the credit to Jesus. Just one year ago I was not able to do much of anything due to pain and back spasms now with the graduating physical therapy and the new medication I am able to go back to work. The big bonus us doing my passion helping people with their donkeys, mules and horses. GOD is amazing as he took my ashes and created beauty. Thank you for the encouragement, lot’s to learn for C.P.A., taxes, liabiity etc., but my husband is helping. Creating our new home/farm/business and selling this turn-key five acre farm in Kingston next spring. Building a one story home for my physical disability. We are busy and so happy to finally be moving foward. I am excited to go to Parelli to HORSEANLITY/HUAMNALITY class the end of January as this will help my business too. 🙂 Hope you are doing good 🙂 Happy New Year!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Valerie Ann Beebe

    I’m Maddi & Trixi’s owner – Melody has been there for us every step of the way! I was so discouraged at first & completely without the skills I needed to help these frightened little donkeys. With her encouragement & advice, we have made so much progress is the last couple of weeks. I also have 4 horse, two of which are young rascals & I am excited to use my growing knowledge & skills to also work with them this summer. Melody provides a wonderful alternative to sending equines off for training & she is only an email away if I have any questions & problems that I need help with. Thank you Melody!

    Like

    Reply
    • Donkey Whisperer Farm

      Thank you for sharing your virtual coaching, consulting and training experience with the world. You are a human angel for all of the animals on your farm. I feel blessed to be able to do my passion help people understand the donkeys, mules and horses bringing balance and peace into all aspects of the human and he equines life. Like so many of us you have a job work hard to do your life and yet you are dedicated to learning how to keep your donkeys and horses in optimum health and social skills. You are one amazing student!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

